List of Grain and Grain-Free Foods

A useful list of what is a grain, and what is NOT a grain.  It doesn’t include everything.  But its a good start.

In reviewing this list, it may be helpful for you to also view the following articles that give good discussions on how to define a grain:

“Not All Seeds are Grains” by herbologist Roy Collins

Wikipedia entry for “Food Grain”

Grains vs Seeds from the Wholegrains Council

Foods that are considered grains, (or are made from grains) are:

  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Barley, including barley malt
  • Bran
  • Bulgar
  • Couscous
  • Farina
  • Kamut
  • Orzo
  • Semolina
  • Sorghum (gluten-free)
  • Spelt
  • Corn (gluten-free)
  • Cornflour (gluten-free unless wheaten cornflour)
  • Cornmeal (gluten-free)
  • Millet – The Body Ecology diet says it is a pseudo-cereal, a gluten free grain like seed.  However it is a member of the plant family Poaceae, of which the other cereal grasses belong and is generally recognized as a grain in most sources I have checked.  Because of this I have listed it on the grain list and it is up to your own research/opinion as to whether you choose to treat it as a grain or not.
  • Rice (gluten-free)
  • Wild Rice (gluten-free, this one is open to debate also – some people swear it is a grain, some people swear it isn’t and is in fact another one of the grain-like seeds.  I treat it as a grain myself but you are welcome to decide otherwise.  See also Millet above)
  • Oats
  • Beer (yes, beer!)
  • Glucose made from wheat
  • Teff (gluten-free)
  • Montina flour
  • Graham flour (wheat)
  • Commercially made stock: like chicken, beef or vegetable stock in either powder or liquid usually contains some kind of grain.
  • Soy Sauce (contains wheat)
  • (this list is incomplete, if I tried to make it complete it would be a list of thousands of items and be unreadable)

So any thing made from these products would also contain grains – like cakes, biscuits, pizzas, bread, pasta, breadcrumbs, spaghetti, sauces, soy sauce, sauces or processed drinks etc

Foods that are grain free, even though they are often used as a flour or look a bit like a grain are:

  • Almond meal or any other nut meal. (OK for paleo, GAPS or SCD)
  • Amaranth – is grain like seed, from the broadleaf (dicot) plant family. (OK for Body Ecology, or if tolerated, not paleo or GAPS). Is generally treated as a grain when discussing due to being cooked and used much the same way as cereal grains, but is in class Magnoliopsida, while the cereal grain family Poaceae stems from class Liliopsida.
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat also called Kasha – is grain like seed, related to rhubarb, from the broadleaf (dicot) plant family. (OK for Body Ecology, or if tolerated, not paleo or GAPS). Is generally treated as a grain when discussing due to being cooked and used much the same way as cereal grains, but is in class Magnoliopsida, while family Poaceae stems from class Liliopsida.
  • Cassava
  • Chickpeas (made into flour)
  • Coconut (used in flours) (OK for paleo, GAPS or SCD)
  • Cottonseed
  • Dal
  • Fava bean
  • Flaxseed (OK for paleo, GAPS or SCD)
  • Gram flour (chickpea)
  • Lentils
  • Manioc
  • Potato Starch/Flour
  • Quinoa – is grain like seed, from the broadleaf (dicot) plant family. (OK for Body Ecology, or if tolerated, not paleo or GAPS). Is generally treated as a grain when discussing due to being cooked and used much the same way as cereal grains, but is in class Magnoliopsida, while family Poaceae stems from class Liliopsida.
  • Sago
  • Sesame – seed
  • Sunflower seed flour
  • Taro flour
  • Soy flour
  • Tapioca
  • Glucose make from tapioca
  • Plantain flour (can get at African grocers)
  • Yam (iyan) flour (can get at African grocers)
  • Mesquite flour

So any thing made from these products would be technically be grain-free (but not necessarily ok to consume – for many people they would still cause problems for various reasons).  For example, bread, cakes or pasta made from grain-free flours do not contain grains.  Reading ingredients is therefore important.

Grain free foods are also automatically gluten-free.

Just because something is “technically” not a grain, doesn’t make it automatically ok for many people.  Paleo peeps or GAPS-diet folk wouldn’t touch any of the grain-like seeds or most of the starchy grain free alternatives in the above “not a grain list”.  It’s really just the nuts and seeds for them.  For myself, I do ok on soaked & sprouted quinoa, amaranth, buckwheat and millet, so I eat them sometimes, although not everyday.

Dairy products, or anything from an animal like milk, cheese, butter or meat do not contain grains.

All fruits and vegetables are not grains, (except for corn, which is a grain).

Please also refer to this article I always thought it was a grain” 

Author: Grain Free Living

Share This Post On